Kentucky Commission on Proprietary Education

Kentucky Commission on Proprietary Education

The ​Kentucky Commission for Proprietary Education was established by action of the 2012 Kentucky General Assembly; it replaced the Board of Proprietary Education.

The commission is charged with licensing and ​regulating all proprietary schools, doing business in Kentucky, other than those that offer a four-year bachelor’s degree. In addition, it administers the Student Protection Fund which reimburses eligible students in the event a school closes, loses its accreditation or discontinues a program. The work of the commission is funded entirely through fees paid by licensed ​institutions.​

Misty Edwards - Executive Director
500 Mero Street
4th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: (502) 564-4185

  Education and Labor Cabinet Updates

To receive Press Releases and updates on Workers’ Compensation and Workplace Standards, subscribe below.